Sharing audiences between your sections enables you to target users on one website based on their behavior on a different website. For example, if you have 2 websites – a store and a blog – you can target content promotion related to women's shoes on your blog to users that belong to an audience of Purchased Women Shoes on your store. You can do this between any of your sites and apps.
After an audience is shared with other sections, users in the audience are matched with visitors to the website of the section that the audience is shared with every 24 hours, at midnight. They can only be matched if they've triggered an event with their identity (like Signup, Login, Newsletter Subscription, or Identify User) on both sites, with the same identity.
Note that audience members are added or removed from the shared audiences every midnight, unlike regular audiences, which are updated in real time.
- The team member sharing the audience in Experience OS must have Full Access permissions to both sections (the one being shared from and the one being shared to).
- Website visitors must identify themselves at least once on each of the websites (the one belonging to the section that shares the audience and that of the section that is being shared with), with the same identity (for example, the same email address). This can be done by firing any of the following events:
- Newsletter subscription
- Identify User
- Go to Audience Manager
- Click the More Options icon to the right of the audience, and then select Share audience.
- In the Share Audience dialog, select sites and apps to give access to the audience, and then click Save.
The audience is now available for targeting when you create a new campaign.
Targeting shared audiences
After audiences are shared with a section, a condition called Shared Audience appears in the targeting options of your campaigns. You can target users who belong (or do not belong) to the shared audience.